Back to Questions
other
3 months ago

Asalamualakykum warahmatullah wabarakatuh Please can you advise on the permissibility of different vinegars eg white whine vinegar, spirit vinegar etc. I have read vinegar is halal if it is not converted from wine using added ingredient but it is hard to know which vinegars are and are not?

SOK Academy logo

Ustadh AbdulAziz al-Haqqan

Many of these names do not actually contain wine, it is only the name, and if that is the case then there is no harm in it. If it was wine that turned into vinegar by itself, the scholars say this is allowed to use. And if there was a process by which people deliberately turned the wine into vinegar, there are two views, some of the people of knowledge see it as forbidden, like the Hanbalis, and this is what the Permanent Committee ruled, and others see it as allowed. And if alcohol is added to the vinegar, even a little, it becomes forbidden by that, as Imam Ibn Baz said. Allah knows best.

Have Your Own Questions?

Unlock access to hundreds of lessons, direct Q&A with Ustadh AbdulAziz, a discussion forum, and much more to grow your Islamic knowledge.

Subscribe Now

Get Daily Q&A Updates

Follow our Instagram to keep up with the latest questions answered by Ustadh AbdulAziz al-Haqqan

Follow On Instagram