Back to Questions
fiqh
about 1 year ago

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته احسن الله إليكم Is it permissible to consume protein bars that contain cow collagen if the cattle were not slaughtered according to halal requirements?

SOK Academy logo

Ustadh AbdulAziz al-Haqqan

Animal collagen: If it is taken from an animal slaughtered according to Islamic law, it is pure and permissible to eat. If it is taken from a maytah (dead animal not slaughtered according to Islamic law), or from an animal not slaughtered according to Islamic law, it is impure and forbidden to consume, because it is part of a maytah. However, if it has been processed and mixed with other substances so that it has transformed into a different material with properties and characteristics distinct from the impure source, then there is no problem in eating or consuming it, because transformation (istihālah) is purifying according to the stronger opinion. But if it has not undergone complete transformation, and retains some of the characteristics or properties of the impure source from which it was taken, then it is not permissible to consume it, as it remains part of a maytah.

Have Your Own Questions?

Unlock access to hundreds of lessons, direct Q&A with Ustadh AbdulAziz, a discussion forum, and much more to grow your Islamic knowledge.

Subscribe Now

Get Daily Q&A Updates

Follow our Instagram to keep up with the latest questions answered by Ustadh AbdulAziz al-Haqqan

Follow On Instagram