Back to Questions
fiqh
5 months ago

السَّلَامُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَرَحْمَةُ اللهِ وَبَرَكَاتُهُ AhsanaAllahu ilaykoum Is rennet, thus cheese, halal if we don't know how and if the animal was slaughtered? JazakAllahu khayran

SOK Academy logo

Ustadh AbdulAziz al-Haqqan

There are two sayings regarding rennet: 1. Shaykh al-Islam Ibn Taymiyyah (rahimahullah ta'ala) sees that it is pure, even if it was taken from mayta (carrion). 2. The other opinion is that it is impure, as al-Imam al-Nawawi (rahimahullah ta'ala) mentioned. If there is something impure in it, like mayta or that which is not slaughtered the Islamic way, then it is forbidden.

Have Your Own Questions?

Unlock access to hundreds of lessons, direct Q&A with Ustadh AbdulAziz, a discussion forum, and much more to grow your Islamic knowledge.

Subscribe Now

Get Daily Q&A Updates

Follow our Instagram to keep up with the latest questions answered by Ustadh AbdulAziz al-Haqqan

Follow On Instagram